Real Fermenting

image

Over the last year or so I have been reading books on the health benefits of real food – i.e. non processed, fresh food. I read a great book by Michael Pollen titled – Cooked: A Natural History Of Transformation which reinforced my thoughts on eating real food. The chapters on fermenting foods inspired me to have a go myself. My partner is somewhat of a water keffir guru and as we don’t buy or consume sugary drinks water keffir is always brewing in our house. I have recently been hearing and reading of the health benefits of sauerkraut so being the easiest to make I made my first batch.

Sauerkraut Recipe

Cabbage

2 tbsp salt

Slice the cabbage into thin strips, massage salt into cabbage, put into jar, weigh down, cover with cloth, leave for one-two weeks or more to ferment.

Leave a Reply

