Real Food Preparation

Sunday has become our day for food prep for the week. With two kids, my partner working full time and studying part time and myself a full time mum and working from home 20 hours a week food prep is essential.

In the two large containers is homemade chicken stock and beef stock. The stock gets used during the week as a base for soups or stews or for a hit of flavour to sauté veg. I got a bag of lemons and apples from family and made preserved lemons and stewed the apples for my baby who will be trying solids very soon. A container of beef mince was made for my lunch for the next few days and for my six year old’s dinner.

Meat consists of stewing meat (see real stew post for recipe) and good sausages from my local free range butcher, both require little preparation.

In the vege drawers is brocoli, carrots, courgettes and kale. Brocoli takes minutes to cook and carrot and courgettes are mostly used grated and cooked in stock as a side to protein. Kale goes in stews as well as with my fried eggs in the morning.

These meals are hardly gourmet but are hearty and nourishing for a busy family.

Leave a Reply

