Real Garden To Table

20141102_103645-MIX

One of the best things I have done this year is join a community garden. I call it my weekly therapy as it nourishes many aspects of my health. I learn something each time I go there and enjoy the company of other like minded people. One of the many perks of belonging to my community garden is the fresh produce that is shared amongst the members. My last haul included one half of cabbage, a container of strawberries and a head of cauliflower. The strawberries didn’t last long with the two kids, they provided a yummy snack for both baby and my 7 year old.  I attempted to make sauerkraut that turned out to only fill half a small jar – probably not the best use for only half a head. However an off the cuff recipe for the cauliflower turned out to be utterly delicious and only uses three ingredients!

Warm Cauliflower & Avocado Salad

1 cauliflower cut into florets

1 ripe avocado

3 tablespoons homemade mayonnaise

Method:

Put the cauliflower florets into a baking dish and coat with olive oil, season with salt and pepper. Bake at 180° for about 20 -25 minutes, after 10 minutes check the cauliflower and give them a stir to make sure none are getting too brown on their edges. After the cauliflower has cooled slightly put into a bowl and add chopped avocado and mayonnaise.

Enjoy!

Thanks PERA Community Garden ♥

 

2 thoughts on “Real Garden To Table

Leave a Reply

