Real Skin Balm

20141128_102716

I have super sensitive skin and over the years I have spent hundreds of dollars on creams that claim this and that and I am yet to find one that has left a lasting impression. So I did a bit of Googling and found a recipe for home made moisturiser that only uses three ingredients; coconut oil, olive oil and beeswax (essential oil is optional). The only thing I did different to this recipe is use less of the optional essential oil (about half of the recommended amount) as I enjoy the scent of beeswax with a subtle hint of lavender. I call this a balm as opposed to a moisturiser as it is oil based and melts upon skin contact. I use the balm on my face and body and I have had no stinging or irritation.

Real Skin Balm

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 cup olive oil

1/2 cup beeswax pellets

optional 10 drops lavender (or another essential oil of your preference)

20141128_091953

Beeswax pellets are available at Huckleberry Farms Stores or online from NZ retailers

Method:

Put all ingredients apart from the essential oil in a wide mouth jar. Put jar with ingredients into a saucepan of water that is half filled, put saucepan on the stove to a low setting. Leave until all the ingredients are melted with the occasional stir being careful not to get any water in the jar. Once melted take the jar out of saucepan and add the essential oil and stir carefully, then leave to cool on the bench to room temperature before putting in the fridge to completely cool and set.

20141128_092148

You could try adding different essential oil combinations, or add a couple of drops of vitamin E oil for a moisture boost, or infuse the olive oil with flowers or herbs before melting together with other ingredients. The recipe makes about 2 cups worth so one batch can go a long way. This would make a great gift for Christmas, just pour into small glass jars before the balm sets firm and have fun making up a name and labels for your jar of goodness.

2 thoughts on “Real Skin Balm

  1. My daughter made something similar to this and it felt so wonderful on my poor skin, which I have been neglecting. In fact, I’m pretty sure she left some in the fridge when she went back to university. If not, I’m going to make this. I have all of the ingredients!

    Like

Leave a Reply

